Gears of Life

When I first graduated college, I had these lofty dreams of being successful in my career. At that time, money was the mechanism at which I gauged my success. The constant pursuit of promotions and pay increases drove me further and further. With this success, I acquired things that brought about happiness, but for only a short time. Always wanting more and never being happy with what I had. As time moved on and the years passed, I experienced life and found passions that may not have been realized without my successful career. Those passions continuously drive me to want to improve and become better than I had been the day before.

There is a point in life where I realized that my pursuit of happiness through a paycheck just wasn’t the same as when I was younger. After all those years, I see what my career has brought me and also what it as not. Perhaps it was my lack of experience or just plain ignorance, but that career has only brought me a paycheck and nothing more. At the end of my life, what do I have to show for all that effort? Who will remember what I did, or care for that matter. I am just a numbered cog in the industrial machine of the system. Nothing more. As with any piece of equipment, we become worn and in many cases, obsolete.

There was a point in my early adult life when I had an epiphany about who I was and where I was going in life that made me change direction. At my current point in life, I feel more like I’m waking from a deep slumber, ready for the next stage in my life. The pursuit of my passion. I’m excited and afraid.

One thought on “Gears of Life

  1. That position of being excited and afraid…that’s a wonderful spot to be, at the edge of your comfort zone. I think that’s where the magic happens.

    Your comments about the pursuit of happiness through a paycheck also hit home for me. I was watching “Undercover Boss” last week. At the end, the boss gave each of the employees thousands of dollars to spend on vacations with their loved ones. After a moment of envy, I realized that there is no amount of money that would give me one extra minute with Mike. In the past, I viewed work as a way to fund the time with my loved ones. Now, I am trying to find meaning in work, when the paycheck won’t buy my heart’s desire. It’s an interesting journey.

    I look forward to seeing where your journey takes you.

Leave a Reply

