Shoot and Burn…

In the photography business, there is a term called ‘shoot and burn’ where photographers will shoot their photos and burn them straight to CD/DVD without any touchup. Some clients request this specifically so that they don’t have to pay for any of the photographer’s time to process the images. I personally don’t work like that as each and every shot I produce is my baby and want to make sure they are viewed at their best. Yes, there are times when there are just too many to post process with a keen eye, but I try.
One of the gigs where there are a ton of photos taken and require quick turn around is track shooting. Last Tuesday I collected about 6500 snaps which will all require being viewed and processed. I really wish I could post process each and every one of them to exactly how I want them to look (which would take about 2-3 minutes each), but there just isn’t enough time nor is my sanity that abundant.

Do my customers prefer this or just shoot and burn (to web)? I have no idea 🙂

One thought on “Shoot and Burn…

  1. I much prefer your way of doing things over the “shoot and burn” style. That’s how I work as well (though I don’t shoot as many images as you do at this point), I prefer to a more “artistic” way of shooting, so that each image I present is something I would want as my own. I have seen those guys that present a ton of pictures that seem to be more of a “snapshot” style, and I can see how that would work, but not for me. Good job Jason. I’m sure I’ll see you around The Ridge sometime.

Leave a Reply

