TV time

KiroTV Jenni Hogan Connect

Not sure about other folks, but it’s not everyday that I get to work behind the scenes of a video crew filming live television. When KiroTV’s Jenni Hogan asked if I could join them and document the behind-the-scenes action with stills, l jumped at the offer.
It amazes me how different and yet the same motion video is to still photography. You have many of the same settings such as aperture, focal lengths as well as hardware such as tripods, lenses, and cameras. They also share some of the same problems such as lighting, camera shake, and expensive cost (more so with video). The end result of the two may differ, but how we get there is more similar than not.
Getting to the location I wasn’t sure what to expect. As I walked in we were greeted by interns (wonder if they work for free and if so, how do I get one?). After meeting the crew, my assistant and I began preparing to shoot. We setup a portrait station as well as our usual photo journalistic gear.
Guests soon began to arrive. They consisted of social media heavies such as Ben Huh, the owner of Can I Has Cheeseburger.
The very first thing I do when I arrive to any shoot location is survey the quality of light. The area was light by typical office lights and was decently light. Nothing close to the extreme low lighting encountered during weddings. With my trusty 85mm f1.2, I began capturing the scene.

Leave a Reply

